spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Countdown begins for STS-132 launch
Posted: Wed, May 12, 2010, 5:30 AM ET (0930 GMT)
STS-132: logo (NASA) NASA started the countdown Tuesday afternoon for Friday's launch of the space shuttle Atlantis on what may be that orbiter's final mission. The countdown started at 4 pm EDT (2000 GMT) for the launch of Atlantis on mission STS-132 at 2:20 pm EDT (1820 GMT) Friday from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Pre-launch preparations have been proceeding smoothly and forecasts call for a 70-percent chance of acceptable weather at launch time. Atlantis will deliver a Russian lab module to the ISS and its crew will also perform several spacewalks outside the station. The launch is one of three remaining on the shuttle manifest and the last scheduled mission for Atlantis.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

Russian research satellite unresponsive to commands
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)

Progress launches, arrives at ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 24 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 25
Outlook grim for orbiting Russian zero-G sex geckos
Ars Technica — 8:11 am ET (1211 GMT)
What Will Happen to the Mating Geckos Lost in Space?
Motherboard — 8:11 am ET (1211 GMT)
Thales Alenia Space to build Telkom-3S satellite for Indonesia
Thales Alenia Space — 8:09 am ET (1209 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Announces Todd Ericson as Space Pilot
Virgin Galactic — 8:07 am ET (1207 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list