spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz moved to new ISS docking port
Posted: Tue, Jun 29, 2010, 7:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-19 during move (NASA) Three ISS crewmembers took a brief flight in a Soyuz spacecraft, relocating the spacecraft to a new docking port. Fyodor Yurchikhin, Doug Wheelock, and Shannon Walker, who arrived on the station earlier this month on the Soyuz TMA-19 spacecraft, reboarded the spacecraft and undocked from the aft port of the Zvezda module at 3:13 pm EDT (1913 GMT). They maneuvered the spacecraft over to the port on the new Rassvet module, docking there 25 minutes later. The move frees up the Zvezda port for a Progress cargo spacecraft scheduled for launch on Wednesday. The port on the Rassvet module, added to the station during the STS-132 shuttle mission last month, doesn't yet have a Kurs automated docking system, hence the need for the manual flyover. A Kurs system will be added to that port during a July EVA. The brief Soyuz flight was delayed by a little over an hour because of problems locking one of the solar arrays in place for the move.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Thursday, May 26
Supermassive black hole wind can stop new stars from forming
Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe — 8:18 pm ET (0018 GMT)
Astronomers find giant planet around very young star
Rice Univ. — 8:17 pm ET (0017 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list