spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
USA announces shuttle layoffs
Posted: Wed, Jul 7, 2010, 6:33 AM ET (1033 GMT)
STS-132: landing (NASA/KSC) The company that handles space shuttle operations announced Tuesday that it will lay off over 1,000 employees in October as shuttle program winds down. United Space Alliance, (USA) a joint venture of Boeing and Lockheed Martin, said it will layoff 15 percent of its 8,100-person workforce when the new fiscal year begins on October 1. The bulk of the layoffs, estimated to be 800 to 1,000 employees, will be in Florida, with most of the remainder in Texas. Two shuttle missions remain on the current manifest, scheduled for November and next February, and USA said the layoffs are needed "to align the workforce level" with the work scope and budget of its contract with NASA to handle shuttle operations. Several thousand people are expected to lose their jobs when the shuttle program ends next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 29
AIAA Town Hall: We Need Talent for the Vision
SpaceRef — 6:46 pm ET (2246 GMT)
SpaceShipTwo Takes Flight for First Time in Six Months
NBCNews.com — 6:42 pm ET (2242 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list