spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Thu, Jan 4, 2001, 1:24 PM ET (1824 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis was moved to launch pad 39A Wednesday, a day later than planned after a transporter malfunctioned Tuesday. The shuttle, attached to its external tank and solid-propellant boosters, left the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB) at 10:21 am EST (1521 GMT) and arrived at the pad at 3:45 pm EST (2045 GMT). Rollout had been planned for Tuesday but was stopped shortly after the shuttle left the VAB when a computer system on the "crawler" transporter malfunctioned; a different transporter was used Wednesday. NASA still plans a launch "no earlier than" January 19 for mission STS-98, although a slip to the 20th is still possible because of the delayed rollout. The shuttle will deliver the Destiny lab module to the International Space Station during its 11-day mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 16
Grant accepted at Cecil Spaceport
Jacksonville (FL) Daily Record — 8:27 am ET (1227 GMT)
Defense firms bullish on ‘Space Force’
The Hill — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list