spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Station crew completes third spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Nov 13, 2001, 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
ISS Expedition 3 EVA 3 (NASA) American astronaut Frank Culbertson and Russian cosmonaut Vladimir Dezhurov conducted a successful spacewalk outside the International Space Station Monday. Culbertson and Dezhurov spent five hours and four minutes outside ISS during the EVA, which started at 4:41 pm EST (2141 GMT). The two connected seven cables between the Zvezda module and the new Pirs docking module; the cables were needed for a radar system on Pirs that will allow automated dockings by Soyuz and Progress spacecraft. Culbertson and Dezhurov also inspected a solar panel on Zvezda that did not properly deploy after launch last year, and checked out the Strela cargo crane. The spacewalk was the third and final one planned by the Expedition Three crew before they return to Earth next month on the shuttle. Dezhurov participated in all three EVAs, but Monday's spacewalk was the first ever for Culbertson. The third member of the Expedition Three crew, Mikhail Turin, who participated in the first two EVAs, observed the spacewalk from within the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list