spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

WhiteKnightTwo suffers landing gear problem
Posted: Fri, Aug 20, 2010, 6:43 AM ET (1043 GMT)
WhiteKnightTwo at rollout (J. Foust) WhiteKnightTwo (WK2), the carrier aircraft for Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo (SS2) suborbital spacecraft, had part of its landing gear collapse upon landing after a test flight Thursday. The left main landing gear on the twin-hulled aircraft collapsed when it landed at the Mojave Air and Space Port in California Thursday morning. The aircraft was completing its 37th test flight; SpaceShipTwo was not attached to WK2 on that flight. Scaled Composites, which is building WK2 and SS2 for Virgin, described the problem as a "minor incident" with no injuries. An FAA spokesman told the AP that while the landing gear was damaged, it was not yet clear if the aircraft sustained any other damage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two satellites within 24 hours
Posted: Fri, Nov 21 6:40 AM ET (1140 GMT)

British company announced crowdfunded lunar mission plan
Posted: Thu, Nov 20 7:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)

ATK and Orbital postpone vote to approve merger
Posted: Thu, Nov 20 7:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 21
Boeing layoff details revealed, more jobs to leave area
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 6:46 pm ET (2346 GMT)
With An Eye To Mars, NASA is Testing its Astronaut Twins
Smithsonian Magazine — 6:45 pm ET (2345 GMT)
Beautiful Map Reveals The Evolution Of The Protoplanet Vesta
Popular Science — 6:43 pm ET (2343 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list