spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

Crew selected for "launch on need" shuttle mission
Posted: Wed, Sep 15, 2010, 6:51 AM ET (1051 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday the crew for a "launch on need" shuttle mission next year that could be converted into an actual additional shuttle flight. Chris Ferguson would command the mission, currently designated STS-335, with Doug Hurley as pilot and Sandy Magnus and Rex Walheim as mission specialists. The mission, using the shuttle Atlantis, currently would only fly if the last currently planned shuttle mission, STS-134, required a rescue mission. However, legislation working its way through Congress would direct NASA to fly another shuttle mission, in which case STS-335 would be converted into STS-135, a mission with the same crew slated for a June 2011 launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches New Shepard vehicle on first test flight
Posted: Sat, May 2 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

Progress cargo spacecraft to reenter
Posted: Sat, May 2 9:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)

MESSENGER missions ends with crash on Mercury
Posted: Sat, May 2 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 2
The Great Space Twins Study Begins
Time — 9:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Mars-Bound Astronauts May Face Danger From Cosmic Rays
HealthDay News — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
A new commercial golden age?
The Engineer — 9:13 am ET (1313 GMT)
Is commercial space flight viable?
Management Today — 9:12 am ET (1312 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list