spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for November 29 launch despite wheel concern
Posted: Fri, Nov 16, 2001, 10:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
STS-108 rollout to pad 39B (NASA/KSC) Shuttle managers decided Thursday to proceed with a November 29 launch of the space shuttle Endeavour despite concerns about wheel corrosion. At a flight readiness review Thursday NASA officials cleared the shuttle for launch on the 29th at 7:44 pm EST (0044 GMT Nov. 30). However, engineers will spend the next two weeks studying a possible problem with corrosion on the landing wheels of the shuttle. Small amounts of rust have been found on bolts on several wheels, although officials don't know if there is corrosion on any of Endeavour's six wheels. Engineers are studying both what is causing the corrosion and whether it could cause the wheels to fail during landing. The wheels on Endeavour cannot be inspected on the launch pad, so any decision to study them could delay the launch of STS-108 by several weeks.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list