spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Leonid meteors dazzle North Americans
Posted: Sun, Nov 18, 2001, 2:46 PM ET (1946 GMT)
Observers across North America observed an outburst of meteors from the Leonid meteor shower early Sunday. Initial reports indicate that the shower's intensity increased dramatically around 6 am EST (1100 GMT), with some observers in the western continental US and Hawaii reporting rates of more than 1,000 meteors an hour, the level needed for a shower to be classified as a storm. At Mt. Lemmon, Arizona, observers reported a peak rate of 2,600 meteors an hour. Despite the intensity of the storm there have been no reports of spacecraft in orbit damaged or disabled by the shower. The peak is the first of two forecast for this year's shower: an even bigger storm is forecast for Australia and East Asia tonight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list