spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

NASA replaces injured STS-133 astronaut
Posted: Thu, Jan 20, 2011, 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
Kopra, Tim (NASA) NASA announced Wednesday that it will replace an astronaut on next month's STS-133 shuttle mission after he was injured in a bike accident over the weekend. Steve Bowen will replace Tim Kopra on the STS-133 mission, allowing the shuttle to remain on its current schedule of a February 24 launch. Kopra was injured riding a bicycle over the weekend and NASA officials determined he would not be in condition to fly on the shuttle next month. Bowen flew on the STS-132 mission last May, making him the first astronaut to fly back-to-back missions. OFficials said they chose Bowen because of his spacewalking experience, allowing him to take over the spacewalking duties on the upcoming mission planned for Kopra.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Indian launches navigation satellite
Posted: Mon, Mar 30 7:24 AM ET (1124 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 2
OSIRIS-REx spacecraft final assembly begins in Littleton
Denver Post — 5:27 am ET (0927 GMT)
SpaceX sets next launch date from Cape Canaveral
WKMG-TV — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list