spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dropped tool has little effect on shuttle launch preps
Posted: Thu, Feb 10, 2011, 5:26 AM ET (1026 GMT)
STS-133: logo (NASA) NASA officials said Wednesday that a tool dropped by a shuttle worker on the launch pad will have no impact on plans to launch the shuttle later this month. A feeler gauge, which consists of 13 pieces of metal, each the thickness of a piece of paper, held together with a screw, fell apart as a technician was using it while working on the shuttle Tuesday night. The tool did not damage the shuttle as it fell, although it did cause minor foam damage to the backside of the external tank that NASA said will not require repairs. Discovery remains on track to launch on February 24th on STS-133.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Monday, September 26
SSTL announces successful launch of AlSat-1B
SSTL — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list