spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV docks with ISS
Posted: Thu, Feb 24, 2011, 1:57 PM ET (1857 GMT)
ATV-2 docks with ISS (ESA) A European cargo spacecraft docked with the ISS Thursday morning, clearing the way for the launch later Thursday of the space shuttle. The Automated Transfer Vehicle 2 (ATV-2), also known as Johannes Kepler, docked with the aft port of the Zvezda module of the ISS at 11:08 am EST (1608 GMT) Thursday, nearly eight days after its launch from French Guiana. The spacecraft is carrying about seven tonnes of supplies, including propellant to reboost the station's orbit. The successful docking will allow NASA to proceed with the launch Thursday afternoon of the shuttle Discovery on mission STS-133: had the docking failed for some reason, the shuttle launch might have been postponed to devote communications and other resources to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 24
CU-Boulder faculty, students primed for Juno arrival at Jupiter
Univ. of Colorado — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
Hundreds flock to NewSpace 2016 conference in Seattle
KING-TV Seattle — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
House T&I Committee Dips Toe Back Into Commercial Space Launch Issues
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Purdue Items Heading to Space
Inside Indiana Business — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list