spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Second STS-133 spacewalk completed
Posted: Thu, Mar 3, 2011, 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
STS-133: EVA #2 (NASA) Two astronauts spent over six hours outside the International Space Station on Wednesday on the second and final spacewalk of the STS-133 mission. Steve Bowen and Alvin Drew started their six-hour, 14-minute EVA at 10:42 am EST (1542 GMT), carrying out a variety of tasks outside the station. The two vented the remaining ammonia from a malfunctioning pump module moved during the mission's first spacewalk, and also performed maintenance on the Canadian Dextre robotic manipulator, among other tasks. The spacewalk's only problem came towards the end, when Drew's helmet light came loose.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list