spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour cleared for reentry
Posted: Sun, May 22, 2011, 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)
STS-134: image of damaged tile (NASA) Shuttle managers announced Saturday they have cleared the shuttle Endeavour for a return to Earth at the end of this month after concluding a damaged tile on the orbiter was not a concern. Astronauts on Saturday used a boom to study damage to a tile on the underside of the orbiter spotted when the shuttle arrived at the International Space Station on Wednesday. Engineers used the detailed information on the size and depth of the gouge in the tile to run computer models to see how it would affect the shuttle upon reentry. NASA officials said Saturday that the tile damage would not threaten the safety of the orbiter during reentry, and thus there was no need to repare the gouge while in orbit. Endeavour remains docked to the ISS, and is scheduled to return to Earth at the end of its final mission on June 1.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Thursday, July 28
Does the Pentagon need a Space Acquisition Agency?
Space News — 8:15 pm ET (0015 GMT)
'Aquanauts' Study Space Living from Under the Sea
SPACE.com — 8:14 pm ET (0014 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list