spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Soyuz launches new ISS crew
Posted: Wed, Jun 8, 2011, 5:48 AM ET (0948 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-02M launch (Roskosmos) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three new International Space Station crew members lifted off early Wednesday. A Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:12 pm EDT Tuesday (2012 GMT Tuesday, 2:12 am local time Wednesday) and placed the Soyuz TMA-02M spacecraft into orbit nine minutes later. On board the Soyuz are Russian cosmonaut Sergei Volkov, American astronaut Mike Fossum, and Japanese astronaut Satoshi Furukawa, who will join the ISS crew after the Soyuz docks with the station on Thursday. Fossum will become the station commander when the current commander, Andrey Borisenko, leaves the station in September.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list