spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Possible problems with Progress docking
Posted: Wed, Nov 28, 2001, 10:54 PM ET (0354 GMT)
Progress spacecraft on approach to ISS (NASA) A Progress cargo spacecraft may not have firmly docked with the International Space Station Wednesday, a situation that could delay Thursday's launch of the space shuttle. The Progress M1-7 spacecraft appeared to dock successfully with ISS at 2:43 pm EST (1943 GMT), but flight controllers later said that the Progress did not appear to make a "hard lock" with the station. Engineers plan to work on the docking early Thursday, when the station next passes over Russian ground stations. Flight rules require that the Progress be hard docked to the station before a shuttle can dock with the station, to prevent the Progress from damaging the station during a shuttle docking. In the worst-case scenario, the current situation could delay the launch of the shuttle Endeavour on mission STS-108, currently scheduled for 7:41 pm EST Thursday (0041 GMT Friday). Shuttle managers will likely discuss the situation during a previously-scheduled meeting Thursday morning.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list