spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Fri, Jul 29, 2011, 8:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
China launched the latest in a series of what government officials call "experimental" satellites on Friday. The Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China at 3:42 am EDT (0742 GMT, 3:42 pm Beijing time) Friday, carrying the Shijian 11-02 satellite. The spacecraft will be used to carry out scientific experiments in space, according to official Chinese accounts, although Western observers speculate it and others in that class are carrying out military missions, such as missile early warning detection. The launch was the second by China in less than a week, and the third this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list