spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Biggest solar flare in years erupts
Posted: Wed, Aug 10, 2011, 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Solar flare seen by SDO on 2011 Aug 9 (NASA) The most powerful solar flare of the current solar cycle took place early Tuesday, but the flare is not expected to have a major effect on the Earth. The flare, measured by spacecraft as class X6.9, erupted from the Sun at 3:49 am EDT (0749 GMT) Tuesday, with an associated coronal mass ejection. The flare's location near the limb of the Sun means that its effect on the Earth should be minimal, although it may create some radio communications blackouts. The flare was the most powerful one since December 2006. Solar activity is increasing as it approaches the peak of its 11-year cycle in 2013.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list