spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docking problem delays shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, Nov 29, 2001, 9:32 PM ET (0232 GMT)
STS-108 patch The launch of the space shuttle Endeavour has been delayed at least until Friday while engineers study an incident where a Progress spacecraft failed to dock properly with the International Space Station. Endeavour was scheduled to launch on mission STS-108 at 7:41 pm EST Thursday (0041 GMT Friday), but mission managers met early Thursday and elected to delay the launch while engineers continue to study the problem with the Progress, which docked with the station Wednesday but failed to make a hard lock with the station. Russian officials believe that a cable left over from a station EVA may have interfered with the docking, according to AFP. Regulations require that the Progress be securely attached to the station before the shuttle docks, to prevent vibrations from the shuttle docking from knocking the Progress loose or damaging the station. The launch has been tentatively rescheduled for Friday at 7:18 pm EST (0018 GMT Saturday), but that is dependent on what conclusions station officials make about the status of the Progress. SPACE.com reported than an EVA will almost likely be needed to secure the Progress, but the question of when the EVA takes place relative to STS-108 remains open.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Saturday, November 18
Rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for Saturday
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:43 am ET (0743 GMT)
Codename Zuma: All about SpaceX's secret launch
CNNMoney.com — 2:42 am ET (0742 GMT)
Elon Musk on His Fears, Dreams, Twitter, Morality and Mars
Rolling Stone — 2:39 am ET (0739 GMT)
UAE's Mars City to be ready in 30 months
Zawya — 2:38 am ET (0738 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list