spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Dec 3, 2001, 10:01 PM ET (0301 GMT)
STS-108 patch Two cosmonauts quickly completed a contingency spacewalk Monday, allowing a Progress spacecraft to securely dock with the International Space Station and clearing the way for a shuttle launch Tuesday. Cosmonauts Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Turin needed to spend just two hours and 46 minutes outside the station Monday morning, about half the time originally expected, to get the Progress M1-7 spacecraft to properly dock with the station. The cosmonauts discovered that a rubber o-ring left behind by the last Progress that docked with the station was preventing this Progress from securely docking with the station. The cosmonauts removed the o-ring with a cutting tool, allowing the Progress to become "hard docked" to the station. With the Progress secured, NASA shuttle managers decided late Monday to move ahead with plans to launch the shuttle Endeavour on mission STS-108 at 5:45 pm EST (2245 GMT) Tuesday. Launch preparations will continue as planned despite a new high security alert issued by the federal government late Monday, citing reports of possible terrorist threats against the US.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list