spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Shenzhou undocks, redocks with Tiangong module
Posted: Tue, Nov 15, 2011, 6:24 AM ET (1124 GMT)
Shenzhou-8 redocking with Tiangong-1 (Xinhua) An uncrewed Chinese Shenzhou spacecraft undocked from the experimental Tiangong-1 module on Monday and redocked with the module a short time later, the last major test of this mission to demonstrate Chinese docking technology. The Shenzhou-8 module undocked from the Tiangong-1 module at 6:27 am EST (1127 GMT) Monday, moved out to a distance of about 140 meters, and redocked with the module about a half-hour later, according to Chinese officials, who said the test went as planned. Shenzhou-8, launched on November 1, first docked with Tiangong-1 on November 3. The spacecraft will remain docked for two more days before Shenzhou-8 undocks and returns to Earth. The successful docking tests may clear the way for China to launch a crewed Shenzhou spacecraft next year to Tiangong-1, a prototype space lab that is part of Chinese efforts to develop a full-fledged space station by the end of the decade.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Air Force and SpaceX settle lawsuit
Posted: Sat, Jan 24 9:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 26
SpaceX preparing for the crewed Dragon abort tests
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 8:00 pm ET (0100 GMT)
Earth’s Moon May Not Be Critical to Life
Astrobiology Magazine — 7:56 pm ET (0056 GMT)
New Phase of Space Travel Hopes to Set Sail on Sunlight
New York Times — 7:53 pm ET (0053 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list