spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle attaches cargo module, transfers station crew
Posted: Sat, Dec 8, 2001, 8:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
STS-108: Raffaello attached to station The crew of the space shuttle Endeavour attached a cargo module to the International Space Station on Saturday as the old and new station crews traded places. The Raffaello Multi-Purpose Logistics Module was docked to the Earth-facing docking port on the Unity module by the STS-108 crew, using the shuttle's robot arm, shortly before 1 pm EST (1800 GMT). Raffaello will remain attached to the station while the shuttle is docked so that shuttle and station crews can transfer equipment and supplies from the module to the station and pack the module with equipment and garbage for return to Earth. Also during the day the Expedition Three station crew moved into the shuttle to make room for the Expedition Four crew, who are now staying on the station. While an official change-of-command ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, the switch effectively took place Saturday when the custom-fitted seat liners were swapped in the Soyuz module docked to the station. While the shuttle is scheduled to undock from the station on Friday, the 14th, NASA is considering extending the mission by a day to give astronauts time to repair an exercise treadmill on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list