spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 31, 2012, 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
Proton-K launch of Cosmos 2479 (Roscosmos) The last of a venerable variant of Russia's Proton rocket launched a Russian military satellite on Friday. The Proton-K rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 1:49 am EDT (0549 GMT, 11:49 am local time) and placed the Cosmos 2479 satellite into geosynchronous orbit. The satellite is believed to be the last in the Oko series of missile early warning satellites. The launch was also the last of the Proton-K model of the Proton, which first flew in 1967. A modernized version, the Proton-M, was introduced in 2001 and has been primarily used for commercial missions since then.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list