spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Soyuz lands safely in Kazakhstan
Posted: Fri, Apr 27, 2012, 12:59 PM ET (1659 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-22 landing (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three ISS crewmembers landed safely on the steppes of Kazakhstan on Friday. The Soyuz TMA-22 spacecraft touched down near Arkalyk, Kazakhstan, at 7:45 am EDT (1145 GMT), three and a half hours after undocking from the space station. On board the Soyuz was NASA astronaut Dan Burbank and Roscosmos cosmonauts Anatoly Ivanishin and Anton Shkaplerov, who spent five a half months in space. The landing went as planned and the crew was in good condition as they left the capsule. Three people remain on the ISS: Don Pettit of NASA, Andre Kuipers of ESA, and Oleg Kononenko of Roscosmos. They will be joined by Russians Gennady Padalka and Sergei Revin and American Joseph Acaba in mid May when they launch on Soyuz TMA-04M.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list