spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Dragon on test flight to ISS
Posted: Tue, May 22, 2012, 5:29 AM ET (0929 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Dragon on COTS C2+ mission (NASA/KSC) A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a Dragon spacecraft on a test flight to the International Space Station early Tuesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 3:44 am EDT (0744 GMT) and placed the Dragon spacecraft into low Earth orbit, where it immediately deployed its solar panels. The Dragon will spend the next two days approaching the ISS; once there, it will maneuver around the station before approaching the station to be berthed to the station's Harmony node. A successful test flight would allow SpaceX to begin regular missions to the ISS, delivering cargo for the station and returning items back to Earth. The launch was previously scheduled for Saturday but scrubbed at the last second due to a problem with one of the nine engines in the Falcon 9's first stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo accident caused by pilot error, lack of safeguards
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:34 PM ET (1834 GMT)

China launches navigation satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:20 PM ET (1820 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 1
Keck Observatory Astronomer Wins Major Prize
Keck Observatory — 8:14 pm ET (0014 GMT)
Maui has major role to play in study of most important star
Maui (HI) News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
27 arrested protesting telescopes on 2 mountains
Honolulu Star-Advertiser — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list