spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Spacecraft issue could delay MSL landing data
Posted: Tue, Jul 17, 2012, 6:53 AM ET (1053 GMT)
Mars Science Laboratory illustration (NASA/JPL) A problem with a spacecraft currently in orbit around Mars could mean that telemetry from next month's landing by NASA's Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) mission could be delayed by perhaps hours. NASA had expected to use the Mars Odyssey orbiter to relay data from MSL as it landed on the evening of August 5. However, officials said Monday that a problem with a reaction wheel on Mars Odyssey means the spacecraft could be out of position to relay the data live. Other spacecraft, including NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, would be in position to record the telemetry from MSL's landing, but it could take hours before it is transmitted to Earth. The issue does not affect the landing itself, and NASA officials said MSL is in good health. MSL, carrying the Curiosity rover, is scheduled to land at 10:31 pm PDT August 5 (0531 GMT August 6) near the base of the central peak, nicknamed "Mount Sharp", of Gale Crater on Mars.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list