spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches five satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 22, 2012, 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)
Soyuz-FG launch of Canopus-B and other satellites (Roscosmos) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a collection of small satellites on Sunday. The Soyuz-FG rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 2:41 am EDT (0641 GMT, 12:41 pm local time) Sunday and placed five satellites into Sun-synchronous orbits. The Soyuz's payload included the MKA-PN1 and Canopus-B remote sensing satellites for Russia, the BKA imaging satellite for Belarus, the TET-1 technology demonstration satellite built by the German space agency DLR, and exactView-1, an Automatic Identification System (AIS) satellite built by SSTL in the UK for Canadian company exactEarth. The launch had been blocked earlier this year by Kazakh officials because they had not yet approved the launch trajectory for the Soyuz, which would drop stages in different areas than a typical Soyuz launch from Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list