spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle prepares to undock from station
Posted: Sat, Dec 15, 2001, 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
STS-108 patch The crews of the space shuttle Endeavour and the International Space Station completed preparations Friday for the shuttle's departure on Saturday. Astronauts finished packing the Raffaello cargo module with equipment and garbage to be returned to Earth and detached the module from the station, stowing it in the cargo bay of Endeavour. The shuttle will undock from the station at 11:37 am EST (1637 GMT) Saturday. The undocking was pushed back about a half-hour on Friday to allow time for the shuttle to fire its maneuvering thrusters to guide the shuttle and station away from a piece of orbital debris expected to pass close to the station. Endeavour is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center on Monday afternoon, although current weather forecasts call for unfavorable conditions at the landing site for Monday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list