spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle undocks from station
Posted: Sun, Dec 16, 2001, 12:43 PM ET (1743 GMT)
STS-108 patch The space shuttle Endeavour undocked from the International Space Station Saturday as it prepared to return to Earth. The shuttle undocked at 12:28 pm EST (1728 GMT) Saturday, about 90 minutes later than originally planned. The delay was required to give the shuttle time to fire its thrusters while still docked to the station, moving the shuttle and station out of the way of an old Soviet rocket stage that controllers thought would pass too close to the station for comfort. The shuttle crew will spend Sunday packing up for their return to Earth, as well as deploying the Starshine 2 satellite, a small spacecraft covered with mirrors that will be tracked by students worldwide for eight months. The shuttle is scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 12:55 pm EST (1755 GMT) Monday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list