spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle deploys satellite, ready for landing
Posted: Mon, Dec 17, 2001, 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)
STS-108 patch The space shuttle Endeavour deployed a small satellite Sunday while wrapping up its mission in preparation for landing on Monday. On Sunday morning the shuttle released the Starshine 2 satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite, coated with hundreds of mirrors polished by students, will be tracked by more than 30,000 students in 26 countries over the next eight months, before the spacecraft reenters. The STS-108 crew also spent Sunday packing up to prepare for the shuttle's landing, scheduled for 12:55 pm EST (1755 GMT) at the Kennedy Space Center (KSC) in Florida. Weather conditions, earlier forecast to be poor, should be good enough to permit a landing. A second landing opportunity is available at 2:32 pm EST (1932 GMT), while the alternate landing site at Edwards Air Force Base, California will not be activated Monday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list