spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Two NASA center directors to retire
Posted: Sat, Nov 17, 2012, 10:18 AM ET (1518 GMT)
NASA NASA announced Friday that the directors of the Glenn Research Center in Cleveland and the Johnson Space Center in Houston will retire at the end of this year. Ray Lugo will retire as head of Glenn and will be replaced by James Free, who has been the center's deputy director since early 2011. At Johnson, former astronaut Michael Coats will retire and be replaced by another former astronaut, Ellen Ochoa, who has been the JSC deputy director since September 2007. The departures of Coats and Lugo had been rumored for weeks, although no reason for their stepping down other than retirement has been given.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Wednesday, August 24
14 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Became an Astronaut
Cosmopolitan — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
How do spacecraft travel further then their fuel allows?
Cosmos Magazine — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)
Georgia spaceport project hinges on liability shield law
Atlanta Business Chronicle — 6:07 am ET (1007 GMT)
Intelsat 33e and Intelsat 36 ready for August 24 launch
Broadband TV News — 6:07 am ET (1007 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list