space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

GRAIL spacecraft crash into the Moon
Posted: Tue, Dec 18, 2012, 7:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
GRAIL impact trajectory (NASA/JPL) NASA's twin GRAIL spacecraft crashed into a mountain on the Moon Monday afternoon, completing their nearly year-long mission there as planned. The two spacecraft, dubbed "Ebb" and "Flow", crashed into a mountain near the crater Goldschmidt in the Moon's north polar regions. Ebb crashed into the mountain at 5:28:51 pm EST (2228:51 GMT) and Flow crashed nearby 30 seconds later. NASA announced the impact sites would be named after Sally Ride, the first American woman in space who passed away earlier this year; she led the development of cameras on the spacecraft used exclusively for educational purposes. The two spacecraft entered orbit around the Moon at the beginning of the year to map the Moon's gravity field, work that has created the most precise gravity map to date of the body and, in turn, giving scientists insights into its interior structure.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Wednesday, October 26
Op-ed | Hillary will expand our space potential
Space News — 5:08 am ET (0908 GMT)

Tuesday, October 25
Mars-probe loss is a chance for ESA to learn
Nature News — 8:19 pm ET (0019 GMT)
Trump: "I Will Free NASA" From Being Just a LEO Space Logistics Agency — 8:14 pm ET (0014 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list