spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Radiation exposure may accelerate onset of Alzheimer's disease
Posted: Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 6:45 AM ET (1145 GMT)
Exposure to high-energy cosmic radiation on deep space missions could accelerate the onset of Alzheimer's disease and have other effects on the brain, scientists reported this week. Researchers exposed mice to levels of radiation similar to what astronauts would receive on a multi-year mission to Mars and then studied the effect the radiation had on the brain. They found an increased accumulation of beta amyloid, a protein "plaque" associated with Alzheimer's. The mice also showed signs of neurological impairment after exposure to the radiation. Scientists cautioned that the way the text was carried out, by giving mice a multi-year radiation dose in just a few minutes, could have exacerbated the effects of the radiation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
India launches GSLV Mark 3 on successful test flight
Posted: Thu, Dec 18 7:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

NASA postpones decision on asteroid mission design
Posted: Thu, Dec 18 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)

Curiosity detects methane "spikes" in Martian atmosphere
Posted: Wed, Dec 17 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)

news links
Thursday, December 18
NASA's Orion capsule back at Kennedy Space Center
Florida Today — 7:28 pm ET (0028 GMT)
SpaceX launch from Cape delayed to January
Florida Today — 7:28 pm ET (0028 GMT)
Kepler Makes First Exoplanet Discovery After Reboot
Discovery.com — 7:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)
SpaceX Slips ISS Cargo Run To Early January
Aviation Week — 7:25 pm ET (0025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list