spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Exocomets likely common around other stars
Posted: Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
Exocomets illustration (UCB) Astronomers this week reported the discovery of several stars that have comets orbiting them, suggesting that cometary systems may be just as common as extrasolar planets. Researchers detected these "exocomets" by observing a telltale absorption line in spectra of six young A-class stars. That absorption line is created when an exocomet plunges into a star and evaporates. Astronomers believe that these stars likely also have planets that perturbed the orbits of the comets into the stars.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)

Mars spacecraft survive comet flyby
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 7:53 AM ET (1153 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Tue, Oct 21 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 22
SLS headquarters developing exploration stage of rocket
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Partial solar eclipse visible Thursday in Fairbanks
Fairbanks (AK) News-Miner — 7:55 pm ET (2355 GMT)
JSC Media Center to close its doors Oct. 23
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:50 pm ET (2350 GMT)
Russian Cosmonauts Breeze Through Four-Hour EVA
AmericaSpace — 7:48 pm ET (2348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list