spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Bigelow to provide expandable module for ISS
Posted: Sat, Jan 12, 2013, 10:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
NASA confirmed Friday that Bigelow Aerospace, a company developing commercial space stations using modules that inflate in orbit, will provide a module for the International Space Station. The space agency said Friday that it has signed a $17.8-million contract with Bigelow to provide the Bigelow Expandable Activity Module, or BEAM, to the ISS. Few details about the module's size, capabilities, or launch date have been announced, although more details are expected to be released at a press conference at Bigelow's Las Vegas facilities on January 16. NASA said that the module will demonstrate the capabilities of expandable habitat technology for future commercial and government applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
House passes commercial space bill
Posted: Fri, May 22 8:36 AM ET (1236 GMT)

news links
Monday, May 25
Blue Origin may build new $220m rocket factory in Florida
The Manufacturer — 7:29 am ET (1129 GMT)
UAE Space Agency will choose 20 student delegates for programme
The National (UAE) — 7:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
UAE Space Agency unveils its strategy
The National (UAE) — 7:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Project Exodus: What’s behind the dream of colonizing Mars?
The New Yorker — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list