spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Rockot places three satellites in orbit
Posted: Wed, Jan 16, 2013, 6:25 AM ET (1125 GMT)
Rockot booster in flight (DLR/Spaceflight Now) A Russian Rockot booster placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Tuesday in the first orbital launch of the year. The Rockot vehicle lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:25 am EST (1625 GMT) and placed three satellites, designated Cosmos 2482 through 2484, into low Earth orbit. The satellites are believed to be part of the Strela class of communications satellites. the launch, the first of 2013, had been planned for last month but was delayed because of issues with the rocket's Briz-KM upper stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Revised analysis rules out detection of gravitational waves
Posted: Sat, Jan 31 8:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)

Delta 2 SMAP launch postponed to Saturday
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)

Air Forces cancels competition for EELV-class launch
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 31
Astronaut calls on Air Force experience in space
Air Force Times — 11:07 am ET (1607 GMT)
NASA satellite successfully launched from VAFB
Lompoc Record — 11:07 am ET (1607 GMT)
Oh, SMAP! NASA's Soil Moisture Satellite Goes Into Orbit
NBCNews.com — 10:02 am ET (1502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list