spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit-3SL launch fails
Posted: Fri, Feb 1, 2013, 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL rocket suffered an engine shutdown shortly after liftoff early Friday, causing the vehicle and its satellite payload to plunge into the ocean. The Zenit-3SL lifted off from its floating Odyssey Launch Platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 1:56 am EST (0656 GMT) Friday. Few details about the launch itself were available during the webcast, but company officials later confirmed that "all telemetry was lost" from the rocket 40 seconds after liftoff, indicating a loss of mission. Other reports stated that there was a shutdown of the rocket's first-stage engine, but few other details about the failure have been released. The failure is the first for Sea Launch since a January 2007 failure when the Zenit's first-stage engine malfunctioned immediately after liftoff.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list