spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tsiklon launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Fri, Dec 21, 2001, 2:16 PM ET (1916 GMT)
A Tsiklon-2 booster successfully launched a Russian military satellite early Friday from Baikonur. The rocket lifted off at 11 pm EST Thursday (0400 GMT Friday) and placed into orbit a payload officially designated Kosmos 2383. According to the site Russian Space Web, the spacecraft is an electronic reconnaissance satellite, the first of its type launched in two years. The launch was the 104th for the Tsiklon-2 booster. Another Tsiklon booster, a Tsiklon-3, is reportedly scheduled for launch Saturday from Plesetsk to place six small communications satellites into low Earth orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list