spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon arrives at ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 3, 2013, 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
Dragon grappled by ISS on CRS-2 mission (NASA) A commercial Dragon cargo spacecraft, having overcome earlier problems with its thrusters, arrived at the International Space Station early Sunday and is now attached to the station. The Dragon spacecraft, flying the Commercial Resupply Services 2 (CRS-2) mission, rendezvoused with the station early Sunday, and the ISS's robotic arm grappled the spacecraft at 5:31 am EST (1031 GMT). The robotic arm then moved the Dragon to its berthing port on the Earth-facing side of the Harmony module, with the spacecraft firmly attached to the station at 8:56 am EST (1356 GMT). Dragon, carrying several hundred kilograms of experiments and other supplies, will remain docked to the station for three weeks before departing and returning to Earth. The Dragon berthing took place one day later than originally planned after the spacecraft experienced problems with its thrusters immediately after entering orbit Friday. Engineers traced the problem to the blockage in a line that pressurizes an oxidizer tank, and all four thruster pods were working again several hours after launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list