spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS despite antenna problem
Posted: Sat, Apr 27, 2013, 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
Progress M-19M docking with ISS (NASA) A Russian Progress cargo spacecraft docked with the International Space Station on Friday despite an antenna on the spacecraft that failed to deploy. The Progress M-19M docked with the Zvezda service module at 8:25 am EDT (1225 GMT) and achieved a "hard mate" with the station nine minutes later. The docking took place despite the failure of an antenna used by the Kurs automated docking system to deploy after the Progress launched on Wednesday. Engineers had worried that that undeployed antenna might prevent the Progress from making a hard mate with the station, requiring a spacewalk to free it so that the hatch could be opened, but the spacecraft docked securely and the ISS crew started unloading the spacecraft later Friday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list