spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey finishes aerobraking
Posted: Sat, Jan 12, 2002, 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)
Mars Odyssey spacecraft illustration NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft concluded the aerobraking phase of its mission Friday, maneuvering out of the atmosphere close to its final planned orbit. A thruster burn at 3:18 am EST (0818 GMT) Friday raised the periapsis of Mars Odyssey's orbit 85 km to 201 km. The maneuver ends the series of passes through the planet's upper atmosphere that gradually altered the orbit from its initial elliptical 18.5-hour orbit. The spacecraft is currently in a 201-by-500-km orbit; thruster firings over the next few weeks will move it into its final 400-km orbit. Mars Odyssey will begin scientific operations in late February. The spacecraft carries instruments to map the chemical and mineralogical composition of the Martian surface and look for evidence of water.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list