spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan 4B launches Milstar
Updated: Wed, Jan 16, 2002, 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Jan 15, 2002, 9:13 PM ET (0213 GMT)
Titan 4B launch (Lockheed Martin file photo) A Titan 4B lifted off Tuesday evening on a mission to place a military communications satellite into orbit. The Titan 4B lifted off at 7:30 pm EST (0030 GMT Wednesday) from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. It placed into a temporary low Earth orbit the Milstar 2F-3 military communications satellite. Two Centaur burns later in the evening placed the satellite into geostationary orbit by about 2:45 am EST (0745 GMT) Wednesday. The launch was pushed back by nearly three hours Tuesday because of problems earlier in the day with ground support equipment. The launch is the first of 2002 worldwide.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list