spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Space weather postpones Antares launch to Thursday
Posted: Thu, Jan 9, 2014, 6:00 AM ET (1100 GMT)
Antares on pad before COTS demo launch (Orbital Sciences Corp.) Orbital Sciences Corporation postponed the launch of a Cygnus cargo mission to the ISS on Wednesday because of concerns about space weather conditions that could affect the Antares rocket. The launch of the Antares carrying the Cygnus spacecraft was scheduled for Wednesday afternoon, but was postponed earlier in the day after concerns elevated space radiation conditions caused by a solar flare could affect the rocket's electronics. Late Wednesday, Orbital officials said they planned to go ahead with the launch at 1:07 pm EST (1807 GMT) Thursday after concluding space weather conditions posed an acceptable risk to the launch. The Cygnus spacecraft, carrying cargo to the ISS, is slated to arrive at the station on Sunday assuming an on-time launch Thursday. The mission is the first of eight cargo missions under Orbital's current contract with NASA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list