spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launch to the ISS rescheduled for March 30
Posted: Sat, Mar 22, 2014, 8:17 AM ET (1217 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of CRS-2 mission (NASA/KSC) SpaceX and NASA have rescheduled the launch of that company's next commercial resupply mission to the ISS for the evening of March 30, the organizations announced Friday. The Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of a Dragon spacecraft had been scheduled for early March 16, but was postponed last week after engineers detected contamination in the unpressurized payload "trunk" portion of the spacecraft. SpaceX said Friday said that after a review, the spacecraft will fly "as-is" after determining that "particular constituents" found in the trunk do not pose a risk to payloads contained there, including a camera system and laser communications experiment. Launch is now scheduled for 10:50 pm EDT March 30 (0250 GMT March 31) from Cape Canaveral. The mission is the third of 12 contracted cargo missions to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)

ESA seeks nearly $14 billion over three years
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)

InSight makes progress with heat flow probe
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 20
Getting Water From Waste In Space
Forbes.com — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Waste of Space
Los Angeles Review of Books — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
Study: Male mice can breed even after visits to outer space
Asahi Shimbun — 9:23 am ET (1323 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list