spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Galileo out of safe mode
Posted: Sat, Jan 19, 2002, 2:24 PM ET (1924 GMT)
Galileo at Jupiter illustration Engineers recovered NASA's Galileo spacecraft from safe mode early Friday, one day after freezing up during its flyby of the Jovian moon Io. Galileo resumed normal operations Thursday night at 11 pm EST (0400 GMT Friday), about 14 hours after a radiation-triggered computer upset caused the spacecraft to go into safe mode. The problem kept Galileo from making many of its planned observations of Io during Thursday's flyby, although the spacecraft recovered in time to perform some last imaging of Jupiter, Europa, and Amalthea before its camera is turned off permanently. Galileo's mission will end next September when the spacecraft plunges into Jupiter's atmosphere, a measure that will prevent the spacecraft from accidentally colliding from Europa and possibly contaminating it.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list