spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Judge lifts injunction on RD-180 purchases
Posted: Fri, May 9, 2014, 6:21 AM ET (1021 GMT)
A federal court judge removed on Thursday an injunction filed last week that prevented the federal government or United Launch Alliance from making payments to the Russian company that manufactures the engines uses by the Atlas 5. The April 30 injunction prevented payments to or from NPO Energomash, which builds the RD-180 engines for the Atlas 5. At the time, the Court of Federal Claims said there was at least the potential for funding paid to Energomash to go to Russian deputy prime minister Dmitry Rogozin, who is one of several Russian officials sanctioned by the Obama Administration because of the Ukraine crisis. The court lifted the injunction Thursday, though, after several administration officials concluded that since there was no determination that funds paid to Energomash went to Rogozin, the sanctions did not apply to those payments. The injunction emerged from a suit that SpaceX filed with the court last month protesting the Air Force's block buy of EELV-class launch vehicles from ULA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
New crew arrives at ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 24 5:44 AM ET (1044 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 24
Iconic Kennedy Space Center countdown clock removed
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:21 pm ET (0021 GMT)
NASA retires iconic KSC countdown clock
WTVT-TV Tampa Bay — 7:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)
MSFC, Space and Rocket Center plan Orion events
WAFF-TV — 7:15 pm ET (0015 GMT)
Orbital’s Cygnus – on a SpaceX Falcon 9?
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:11 pm ET (0011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list