spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Google to acquire Skybox Imaging
Posted: Wed, Jun 11, 2014, 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
SkySat-1 illustration (Skybox Imaging) Internet giant Google announced Tuesday it has agreed to acquire commercial satellite remote sensing company Skybox Imaging for $500 million in cash. Skybox, located not far from Google's headquarters in Silicon Valley, is developing a constellation of satellite to provide high-resolution imagery and video that is updated frequently. Skybox launched its first satellite, SkySat-1, last year, and has contracts in place with Space Systems Loral and Orbital Sciences to build and launch a dozen more. Google said it will use imagery from Skybox's satellites to updates its maps and related products, and could use Skybox's satellite technology for other applications, such as providing global Internet access via satellite. Google's interest in Skybox had been reported for months, although the sale price announced Tuesday was substantially smaller than earlier rumors.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

Pegasus wins contract for NASA satellite launch
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:38 AM ET (1138 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 26
Supermassive Black Holes Even Heavier Than Thought
SPACE.com — 7:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
DNA Can Survive Reentry from Space
Scientific American — 7:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
How Far Is the 'Eye of Sauron'? Astronomers Find Out
NBCNews.com — 6:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list