spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew conducts spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jan 26, 2002, 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)
ISS spacewalk by Onufrienko and Walz (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station's Expedition Four crew successfully conducted the second spacewalk in as many weeks outside the station Friday. Cosmonaut Yuri Onufrienko and astronaut Daniel Bursch spent six hours outside the station Friday, starting at 10:19 am EST (1519 GMT). The spacewalkers completed their primary task of installing plume deflectors around six attitude control thrusters on the Zvezda module. The deflectors are designed to contain the exhaust residue from the thrusters so that it does not contaminate other portions of the module or interfere with future EVAs. Onufrienko and Bursch later installed the second of four ham radio antennas on Zvezda; the first was installed by Onufrienko and Carl Walz during their spacewalk January 14. The two spacewalkers also attached several physics and material science experiments to the exterior of the station and retrieved one experiment, Kromka. They also attached "fairleads", or guides that will keep tethers of future spacewalkers from fouling equipment on the station's exterior. The spacewalk was the second by the Expedition Four crew, and the eighth conducted from the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 25
Rocket Lab's Hawke's Bay launch site to expand launch options
New Zealand Herald — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Trump orders deregulation to boost commercial space companies
Washington Times — 7:10 am ET (1110 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list