spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches military communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Jan 21, 2015, 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MUOS-3 (ULA) The most powerful variant of the United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a military communications satellite Tuesday night. The Atlas 5 551 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 8:04 pm EST (0104 GMT Wednesday) and placed the Mobile User Objective System (MUOS) 3 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit. The launch was delayed by about 20 minutes due to high upper level winds and a range communications issue. MUOS-3, weighing more than 6,700 kilograms, provides voice and data services for the US Navy. The spacecraft is the third of a planned five-satellite fleet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list