spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Technical problems postpone SpaceX DSCOVR launch
Posted: Mon, Feb 9, 2015, 6:18 AM ET (1118 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 before DSCOVR launch (NASA/KSC) A problem with a tracking radar scrubbed the scheduled launch of a space and earth sciences satellite Sunday on a Falcon 9. Controllers scrubbed the launch of the SpaceX Falcon 9 v1.1 from Cape Canaveral about two and a half minutes before liftoff because of a problem with an Air Force tracking radar at the spaceport. Earlier in the countdown, controllers also reported an issue with a telemetry transmitted on the first stage. The launch had been tentatively rescheduled for Monday but was later postponed to Tuesday at 6:05 pm EST (2305 GMT) because of poor weather forecast on Monday. The Falcon 9 is launching the Deep Space Climate Observatory (DSCOVR), a joint mission of NASA, NOAA, and the Air Force to monitor space weather from the Earth-Sn L1 point and also take images of the Earth from that location. DSCOVR uses a spacecraft originally built in the late 1990s by NASA called Triana that was cancelled in 2001. SpaceX also plans to use the launch to attempt to land the first stage on a barge in the Atlantic Ocean, part of the efforts by SpaceX to develop a reusable first stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list